The Jo White Scholarship Award


In May 2009, the Colleagues of Calligraphy established the Jo White Scholarship Award (JWSA), which may grant an annual $1,000 award to a deserving Colleague.

Applications will be accepted annually by January 31. If the jurors feel there are two worthy applicants in a particular year, a second $1,000 scholarship may be awarded that year. The scholarship money can be used toward further study or experiences as reflected by our mission statement.

Any current Colleague who has been a paid member for at least the last two years is eligible to apply.  Applicants should be prepared to describe, in as much detail as possible, how they intend to use the scholarship. All jury decisions are final. 

Those receiving a scholarship will be required, within a “reasonable time” period, as agreed upon between the applicant and facilitator, to give back in some way to the CoC. For example, they could provide a monthly program on the content of their studies or experiences, or perhaps write an in-depth article for the Colleagues of Calligraphy website. If you have questions, please send an email to the attention of the Scholarship Facilitator at

Click here for a list of 2019 ideas for learning.


Jo White Scholarship Recipients Gallery

Click the image below to view gallery.



2019 Georgia Greeley, Alex Glowka
2018 Erin Dung
2017  Brenna Jordan
2016  Kris MacDonald, Rebekah Anderson
2015  Maura Lynch
2013  Pat Barrett
2012  Katie Beery
2011  Meridith Schifsky, Joyce Francis
2009  Aleksandra Streeter